BTEC Qualifications

BTEC Certificate in Aviation Studies (equivalent to 2 GCSEs, A-C grades)
you achieve the 'Staff Cadet Part 1' training syllabus you're automatically entitled to this qualification without any further work.  Free to cadets.
BTEC Award in Aviation Studies (equivalent to 1 GCSE, A-C grade)
You're eligible for this once you've completed 'First Class' and 'Leading Cadet' training. There is a registration fee for this award.
BTEC First Diploma in Public Services (equivalent to 4 GCSEs, A-C grades)
This internationally respected qualification mixes theory and practical elements with an emphasis on leadership, teamwork, communi
cations, problem solving and fitness. Improving your life skills, the syllabus includes professional CV preparation, interviewing techniques, communication, first aid, adventure training, health and nutrition. Most of the content is covered by activities you'll be doing normally, and you also complete an additional project and workbook. You're eligible for this BTEC if you are between 16 and 19 years old.

Royal Air Force Association

Flying Scholarship Award

This award is presented each year and winning candidates are rewarded with a course of 35 hours flight training in a light aircraft. The course covers all or part of the tuition needed to obtain a National Private Pilot Licence (NPPL). Four runners-up receive 12 hours training each.To be eligible for the award you need to have been a member of the ACO for at least 12 months on 1st January 2014.

RAF Association Cadet Award

A unique annual award involving a fully-funded expedition to RAF Akrotiri in Cyprus for 10 cadets. The trip is usually planned to coincide with the dates that the RAF Aerobatic Team (the Red Arrows) are on training detachment on Akrotiri.

For further information click on relevant heading.

Voluntary Action North Lanarkshire

The Saltire Awards

This a new Scotland wide initiative to celebrate and reward Scotland's young volunteers aged 12-25 and it is recognised as the Scottish Government's central programme for recognising youth volunteering.  It is made up of 4 sections:

The Challenge  - This is designed as an introduction to volunteering and is undertaken as part of a team. It is a
stand alone award, and a 'Challenge' certificate is awarded once the team complete the Challenge.

The Approach - The young person is supported to make a regular commitment to volunteering. Certificates are
awarded at the completion of 10 and 25 hours volunteering. All certificates are signed by Ministers
of the Scottish Parliament.

The Ascent - This is based on a young person making a sustained commitment to volunteering with a local
organisation, school, or project. Certificates are awarded on completion of 50, 100, 200 and 500
hours of volunteering. All certificates are signed by Ministers from the Scottish Parliament, with the
200 and 500 hour awards signed by First Minister Alex Salmond.

The Summit - This is the pinnacle of the Saltire Awards, and will only be achieved by those who have made an
outstanding contribution to volunteering. Its purpose is to recognise those who have not only
completed the Ascent, but have exceeded expectations. The Summit is not necessarily awarded on
the basis on the number of hours volunteering a young person gives (although it may be used to
recognise an exceptional volunteer who achieves well over 500 hours). It may be a young person who
has overcome significant personal barriers to achieve success through volunteering.

Community Web Kit provided free by BT